Achieving Balance: Yoga and Chakras

Ancient yogis understood that everything is made of energy. The energy centers in our body create the model for our subtle body. Each chakra is located on the spine (starting at the base then moving upward towards the crown of head). There are a total of seven chakras, they are: Root chakra (mooladhara), Sacrum (Swadhishtana), Solar Plexus (Manipur), Heart (Anahata), Throat (Vishuddha), Third eye (Ajna) and Crown Chakra (Sahasrara). Each chakra radiates a specific color and spiritual quality. Ensuring they are in balance becomes an important componant to mind , body and spiritual balance. Yoga practice can help when chakras need balancing. By performing various asanas nadis (energy channels) in the body are purified by flow of prana or life force created by an stabilished yoga practice.

Why balance chakras?

Each chakra affects behaviors in our lives. Furthermore each chakras relates to an element. Understanding these associations can help you to better understand the effects they have on the body. When you start to sense that one or many is out of alighment you can utilize yoga as a tool to put you physically and spiritually back in alignment.

  • The Root chakra relates to the earth element which relates to grounding, stability. By practicing tree pose we can promote balance.and will feel ourselves rooted and secure. The benefits of the asana being practiced will cary into our daily lives and its positive effects will last far longer than the pose.
  • The Sacral Chakra relates to water which can affect intuition.
  • The Solar Plexus relates to Fire (you can think of passion).
  • The Heart Chakra relates to air which affects intellect and knowledge.
  • The Throat Chakra relates to either which has an effect on unification.
  • The Third Eye Chakra is associated with light & dark.
  • last chakra (crown) relates to time and space. The more you learn about your body’s energy centers the more you can ensure they stay in alignment for optimal spiritual well being.

You will learn about these chakras in 200 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh at The Bodhi Center.


Article By
Kayla Rowe (RYT-200)